This is the "Info" page of the "Health Promotion and Risk Reduction in Families" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Health Promotion and Risk Reduction in Families   Tags: uml  

This course focuses on health promotion and risk reduction with individuals and young families who are responding to potential or actual physical and psychosocial health problems.
Last Updated: Aug 20, 2013 URL: http://literati.libguides.com/health_promotion_and_risk_reduction Print Guide
Info Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Full-Text Reference Books from Literati

Need more background information about Health Promotion and Risk but don't have time to go to the library? UMass Lowell Libraries gives you access to these full-text electronic reference books through Literati. Click here for a short tutorial about what else is available through Literati.

Cover Art
Key Concepts in Health Psychology
Aims to provide the reader with a comprehensive understanding of the key issues, theories, models, and methods in contemporary health psychology.

Cover Art
Key Concepts in Medical Sociology
Provides a systematic and accessible introduction to medical sociology, beginning each 1500 word entry with a definition of the concept, then examines its origins, development, strengths and weaknesses, offering further reading guidance for independent learning, and drawing on international literature and examples.

Cover Art
Key Concepts in Public Health
Identifies key concepts used across the discipline of public health in order to give the reader a broad perspective of the core topics relevant to training and practice.

Cover Art
The American Heritage Medical Dictionary
A comprehensive reference that reflects the most recent developments in medicine and health care delivery. Clear, concise definitions are included, covering diseases and conditions, treatments, and microorganisms. Hundreds of entries for commonly prescribed and over-the-counter medications are also featured.

Cover Art
Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary, Revised Edition
Defines health-care terms, including abbreviations, medication names, and includes biographies of medical pioneers.

 

Want to Further Explore Your Topic? Create a Mind Map!

 

Looking for eBooks about Health Promotion and Risk Reduction? Search here!

 

Looking for articles about Health Promotion and Risk Reduction? Search here!

Discovery Service
Limit Your Results

Health Promotion

  • Child welfare: Topic Page
    Services provided for the care of disadvantaged children. Foundling institutions for orphans and abandoned children were the earliest attempts at child care, usually under religious auspices. MORE
  • Family therapy
    From Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults
    Family therapy offers a distinctive theoretical approach for working with human problems, with the focus on the individual and their relationships with others, especially within the family structure. MORE
  • Health insurance: Topic Page
    Prepayment plan providing services or cash indemnities for medical care needed in times of illness or disability. MORE
  • Immunization: Topic Page
    Process of conferring immunity to infectious disease by artificial methods, in other words making someone not liable to catch a disease. The most widely used technique is vaccination. MORE
  • Nutrition: Topic Page
    Study of the materials that nourish an organism and of the manner in which the separate components are used for maintenance, repair, growth, and reproduction. MORE
  • Public health: Topic Page
    Science of preventing disease and promoting health at community level rather than on an individual basis. At its most basic it includes the provision of an adequate supply of clean water and the safe disposal of sewage. MORE
  • Social welfare: Topic Page
    . . . Modern social welfare measures may include any of the following: the care of destitute adults; the treatment of the mentally ill; the rehabilitation of criminals; the care of destitute, neglected, and delinquent children; the care and relief of the sick or handicapped; the care and relief of needy families; and supervisory, educational, and constructive activity, especially for the young. MORE

Risk Behaviors

  • Addiction: Topic Page
    State of dependence caused by frequent and regular use of drugs, alcohol, or other substances. It is characterized by uncontrolled craving, tolerance, and symptoms of withdrawal when access is denied. MORE
  • Alcoholism: Topic Page
    Disease characterized by impaired control over the consumption of alcoholic beverages. MORE
  • Child abuse: Topic Page
    The deliberate injury of a child. Child abuse can take several forms: neglect (including failure to provide adequate shelter, food, or medical treatment), physical abuse (including beating and poisoning), emotional abuse (including verbal abuse), and sexual abuse. MORE
  • Domestic violence
    From World of Criminal Justice, Gale
    Domestic violence is about control. It is a pattern of coercive behavior that may include physical, sexual, economic, emotional, and psychological abuse of one family member, roommate or significant partner by another person. In a criminal context, domestic violence is best defined as knowingly causing, attempting to cause, or threatening to cause physical harm to a family or household member. MORE
  • Elder abuse: Topic Page
    Elder abuse is a social and public health problem that affects over half a million abused elderly victims in the United States as well as their caregivers, family, and community institutions. Abuse results in physical, emotional, and mental angst for victims, some of whom are cognitively and/or functionally impaired. MORE
  • Gambling: Topic Page
    The wagering of either money or material goods of value on the outcome of a chance happening, such as roulette or dice-throwing, or where an element of skill can be used to judge the likelihood of an outcome, such as in horse racing or football. MORE
  • Malnutrition: Topic Page
    Condition resulting from a defective diet where certain important food nutrients (such as proteins, vitamins, or carbohydrates) are absent. It can lead to deficiency diseases. MORE
  • Obesity: Topic Page
    Condition resulting from excessive storage of fat in the body. Obesity has been defined as a weight more than 20% above what is considered normal. MORE
  • Poverty: Topic Page
    Condition in which the basic needs of human beings (shelter, food, and clothing) are not being met. MORE
  • Smoking: Topic Page
    Inhalation and exhalation of the fumes of burning tobacco in cigars and cigarettes and pipes. Some persons draw the smoke into their lungs; others do not. MORE
 

What's a Topic Page?


Topic Pages are a scholarly version of the articles that you find on Wikipedia. The difference is that Topic Pages only include information that's scholarly, citable and verified so you don't have to spend time determining if it is appropriate for use in your academic paper. Literati has nearly 10,000 topic pages so the odds are that you can find one that addresses your topic. Explore the topics on this LibGuide page or use this Literati search box to find others:


Related Disciplines

  • Activism: Topic Page
    Activism is action on behalf of a cause, action that goes beyond what is conventional or routine. The action might be door-to-door canvassing, alternative radio, public meetings, rallies, or fasting. MORE
  • Anthropology: Topic Page
    The study of humankind. It investigates the cultural, social, and physical diversity of the human species, both past and present. MORE
  • Education: Topic Page
    Process, beginning at birth, of developing intellectual capacity, skills, and social awareness, especially by instruction. In its more restricted sense, the term refers to the process of imparting literacy, numeracy, and a generally accepted body of knowledge. MORE
  • Environmentalism: Topic Page
    Movement to protect the quality and continuity of life through conservation of natural resources, prevention of pollution, and control of land use. MORE
  • Human rights: Topic Page
    Rights (as freedom from unlawful imprisonment, torture, and execution) regarded as belonging fundamentally to all persons. MORE
  • Medical Anthropology
    From Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
    ‘Medical anthropology’ is generally understood to refer to the study of social and cultural dimensions of health, ill health and medicine. MORE
  • Medicine: Topic Page
    The science and art of treating and preventing disease. MORE
  • Political science: Topic Page
    The study of government and political processes, institutions, and behavior. Government and politics have been studied and commented on since the time of the ancient Greeks. MORE
  • Social work: Topic Page
    Organized effort to help individuals and families to adjust themselves to the community, as well as to adapt the community to the needs of such persons and families. Modern social work employs three methods of assistance: case work, group work, and community organization. MORE
  • Sociology: Topic Page
    Scientific study of human social behavior. As the study of humans in their collective aspect, sociology is concerned with all group activities—economic, social, political, and religious. MORE
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip